Email Address: Password:
The Harrisonburg-Rockingham MSA (Metropolitan Statistical Area) is centrally located in the scenic Shenandoah Valley of west-central Virginia. The Harrisonburg-Rockingham MSA covers 871 square miles of land and is home to about 117,300 persons. Harrisonburg, founded in 1780, is the County seat and an important educational, industrial, retail, commercial and government center. Bridgewater, Broadway, Dayton, Elkton, Grottoes, Mt. Crawford, and Timberville are the County's seven incorporated towns.
The County, formed in 1778 from Augusta County, is bounded on the west by the Allegheny Mountains and on the east by the crest of the Blue Ridge Mountains. The County is situated at the headwaters of the Shenandoah River and is bisected by Interstate 81. The Harrisonburg-Rockingham MSA is approximately 110 miles north of Roanoke, 125 west of Richmond, 125 miles southwest of Washington D.C., and 68 miles south of the Virginia Inland Port. Approximately 32.6 percent of Rockingham County is protected by the Federal Government as National Forest and National Park land.
The Harrisonburg-Rockingham MSA enjoys mild winters and warm summers with an average annual temperature of 53 degrees Fahrenheit and an average annual precipitation of 35 inches.

Click here for community information